Hadeeqa Saman Blogpost #3

In class we discussed the idea of the publics right to know. While in class I thought I knew what side of the argument I supported. At the time I believed that unless the government had some sort of solution to the problem at hand, it would be best to not let the public know for the time being, to avoid panic at a major scale. But after listening to everyone else point of view, I realized I don’t have a clear side I believed in anymore. On one hand, I still think that mass panic should be avoided because people don’t seem to think right whiled stressed and panicky, especially when the well being of their life or their loved ones lives are at stake. But on the other hand, we should know what is going on in the world and how it may effect us, every single person. Thinking about this reminded me of the movie 2012, where the end of the world was predicted and only those who were able to pay for the pricey ticket on to a boat that could withstand the effects of tsunamis and volcano eruptions etc, were told about it. Even the workers who built the boat, and the scientist who discovered that the world was ending were not given access to the ship. While the government did have solution to the problem, the solution catered only to those who could afford it .This got me thinking, at a time of crisis will those who can afford to buy their ways to safety be the only ones who are aware of the crisis? Now I think that everyone does have the right to know exactly what is going on in the world, every single person should. What do you think?

One thought on “Hadeeqa Saman Blogpost #3

  1. I agree with your point. I believe there is no definite answer to this question, it really depends on a situation. Where, to keep people from panicking and creating chaos, maybe it will be best for the government to hide issues from public. But I believe this may only work in situations where the government has a plausible solution to problems and can solve it without the public really knowing about it. But in situations, as you mentioned above, I believe the government should have told the public regarding the issue.

    Like

Leave a Reply

