A Personal Take on Women’s Portrayal in The Media- Alina Intisar

Women have been objectified since the beginning of any medium. I disagree with the portrayal of women as objects on television, films or even magazines. However, I also disagree with people shaming women for using make-up and taking care of their body and skin. Just because a woman enjoys make-up, it does not directly correlates to lack of intelligence. Comments on women lacking intelligence for using make-up are just as condescending as those comments that objectify women. It is true that media creates unrealistic images of beauty in young girls’ mind but it is also true that there is no harm in trying to look pretty for oneself. I feel its just as derogatory to assume that all women put on make-up to impress men as it is to objectify them on a media. As a matter of fact, so what if some women do choose to put on make-up for men. Whatever the reason maybe for it, what matters is that it is her choice at the end of the day.

As a female growing up in America, I was not safe from the pressures of media either. Interestingly enough, my peers played a greater role in making me aware of it than anyone else. They constantly assumed that since I was thin, I was unhealthy and that I should be saved. But i did not need to be saved. I was eating fine and was just as healthy as they were. But, there was a new hype in the media which made it seem that ever skinny girl automatically equates to being anorexic. I felt it was insulting to anorexic women because people were not really understanding the core reason behind their illness. It just gave them another reason to point fingers, rather than to help.

Other than creating standards for body images, media also glorifies light skinned girls over dark skinned girls. Coming from a South Asian background, it is something that I had to deal with on a regular basis. Personally, I could care less about what is being shown as the standard of beauty because I never let it degrade my self-esteem. I was never bothered by not being a white skinned girl until I was constantly reminded of these standards by the society.

It never occurred to me that I could be any less prettier just because I was a dark skinned, thin bodied girl with small breasts until it was pointed out by my peers. Luckily, I had support from my family whom did not let me fall into the trap of self hatred for not matching the beauty standards of the outside world. But unfortunately, not every girl is lucky enough to be able to rescue herself from this trap.

I think its about time that we stop telling women how to live their lives. Just because you, the society, disagrees with her choices, does not mean she has to as well. If she wants to use make up, then let her do it because it is her choice. If a women does not want to wear make up, then that should be fine as well. As a society, we need to stop creating boundaries or limitation on how to live life, and it goes for men as well. As a society, we need to embrace her choices and not reject them just because it does not fit the "standards". Who is creating these standards anyways and why. We do not need them to constantly harm our self-esteem. We should be able to come out how we feel, not how you, the society, wants us to feel.

How much longer do we have to wait until the time when women will be allowed to embrace their choices?

Leave a Reply

