Kevin Sebili

The two videos that we saw in class, Metallica verses Napster, and the scene from HBO’s Vinyl were very interesting because they showed two turning points in the music industry. One dealing with the issue of copyright and the second with identity and record label ownership.
Metallica verses Napster was a very large debate because it started a wave for pirating music, movies and television. Although, I do pirate movies, music and television, which I’m sure almost all of you do, I do see the ethical issue with it because you are essentially taking someone’s hard work and downloading it for free; it is exploitation to say the least. Why is it that if we like something enough to want to have, we don’t want to pay for it? Also, I found it funny that the lead singer to Metallica went through so much trouble and his name was tarnished simply for standing up for what he believed, and not wanting people to take his music for free. I found it interesting that what he was trying to do went against what his image of "screw the man" stood for; I believe that is why people called him out on it.
The second video I found to be a little weird in the sense that you would think that the artist would have more power than the record label because they are the ones producing the actual art. That being said the record labels have an image to protect as well. I disagree with this portrayal in the sense that I think the artist should have the upper hand over the record labels. What are your thoughts?

One thought on “Kevin Sebili

  1. I think its interesting how if we have to pay for the music or movies we might not do so right away, but if we have the opportunity to get the movies and music for free almost instantly we go for it. For me its essentially the expense to buy the music or movies we like, I can’t justify buy a song for 2$ or a dvd for 15$ especially since my tastes change so frequently. I do see the ethical issue you mentioned, we’re taking away money from people who worked so hard to produce these forms of entertainment for us. If there was no way to pirate movies, music or television shows anymore, then would we actually pay for it or would the entertainment industry take a hit?

    Like

Leave a Reply

