Kevin Sebili

I don’t mean to backtrack, but I would like to talk about Beyoncé’s performance during the Superbowl Halftime show. I disagree with many of the comments made that she was doing it to promote violence and create a "race war." In fact I think it was a positive thing that should be promoted more often. She was just showing her pride and putting on a performance. I don’t think any negative connotation should be attached to her performance and I do not think that even analyzing it is fair. Why is it that when she shows black pride, it is associated with and thought to be a race war, while when cold play was promoting gay pride no one saw it as a war against straight people? In the end it is the same concept: there is a minority group that was and still is struggling for rights and equality. However, harmful protest is attached to one and peace is attached to another. What are your thoughts?

2 thoughts on “Kevin Sebili

  1. I also agree with you that Beyoncé’s performance during the Superbowl Halftime show was a positive thing that should be promoted more often. I think she’s great at what she’s doing and while she was showing her pride and putting on a performance, I enjoyed watching it. I totally agree with you when you said that there is a minority group that was and still is struggling for rights and equality. I feel as if people always have to make something positive into something negative.

    Like

  2. I also happen to agree with you that Beyonce’s half-time Superbowl halftime performance can be seen as a positive thing. There always has to be a group of people, especially those in the public eye who will attack something that is actually supposed to be a positive thing. Beyonce is simply promoting and protesting the trials and tribulations of a minority group fighting for equal rights, even in this day and age. Also, just my observation, I found that when Beyonce, Bruno Mars, and Chris Martin of Coldplay (all three of different ethnic backgrounds), came together in the end, it represented unity. It represented something that we all should do in this country if we are ever going to be able to live up to the values and the foundation that this country is supposed to be built on, and live up to the name, the United States.

    Like

Leave a Reply

